About Department

Department of Periodontics, which is an integral part of this Institution, has a lot of achievements to its credit, owing to the steady progress it has made over the years, which is amply justified by statistics.


  1. Preliminary/ Emergency treatment.

    • Treatment of Abscess- Gingival, Periodontal, Pericoronal.

    • Treatment of Acute gingival diseases- ANUG, AHGS, Acute Periodontitis.

    • Occlusal evaluation in Periodontal diseases/Trauma from occlusion/Plunger cusps ;Selective occlusal grinding- Cornoplasty.

  2. Non Surgical treatment.​

    • Scaling and Polishing- Supragingival and Subgingival root planning.​​

  3. Surgical treatment.​​

    • Gingival curettage

    • Gingivectomy

    • Operculectomy

    • Gingival depigmentation

    • Surgical excision of gingival overgrowths

    • Periodontal flap surgery

    • Osseous surgery-Regenerative surgery, Resective surgery

    • Mucogingival surgeries

    • Root coverage- Free gingival graft, Connective tissue graft, Pedicle graft.

4. Interdisciplinary Periodontics

  • Pre-prosthetic surgeries- Vestibuloplasty, Crown lengthening procedures, Soft tissue ridge augmentation, Frenectomy.

  • Adjunctive to orthodontics- Surgical exposure of the Impacted teeth

  • Perio-Endo lesions treatment.


5. Advanced Periodontal Surgery.

  • Electrosurgery

  • Piezosurgery

  • Lser

  • Dental Implants.

Faculty Members

Designation       : Principal, Professor & Head 

Date of Birth     : 12/08/1968

Date of Joining  : 03/07/2009


BDS-1992-Punjabi University

MDS-1996-Lucknow University

Dr. Rajan Gupta

Designation       : Professor  

Date of Birth     : 22/12/1979

Date of Joining  : 01/09/2009


BDS-2001-Kurukshetra University

MDS-2007-Kurukshetra University

Dr. Parveen Dahiya
Dr. Mukesh Kumar

Designation       : Reader 

Date of Birth     : 19/12/1981

Date of Joining  : 06/07/2009


BDS-2003-Magadh University

MDS-2009-Rohail Khand University, Bareilly

Dr. Niti Goyal

Designation       : Reader 

Date of Birth     : 26/08/1983

Date of Joining  : 01/11/2011


BDS-2004-Kurukshetra University

MDS-2009-Pandit Bhagwat Dayal Sharma, University of Health Sciences

Dr. Jyoti Aggarwal

Designation       : Reader 

Date of Birth     : 01/07/1981

Date of Joining  : 10/04/2017


BDS-Kurukshetra University

MDS-2009-MM Univ. Mullana

Dr. Ritika Jaiswal

Designation       : Reader 

Date of Birth     : 18/02/1985

Date of Joining  : 01/08/2017


BDS-2006-Maharashtra University of Health Sciences Nasik

MDS-2012-Datta Meghe Institute of Medical Sciences

Designation       : Sr. Lecturer  

Date of Birth     : 31/01/1986

Date of Joining  : 05/07/2017


BDS-2010-Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla

MDS-2014-Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla

Dr. Karun Chaudhary
Dr. Lolakshi Kachroo

Designation       : Sr. Lecturer  

Date of Birth     : 16/08/1991

Date of Joining  : 16/08/2018


BDS-2014-Maharishi Markandeshwar University, Mullana

MDS-2018-Pt. B.D. Sharma. University of Health Sciences, Rohtak

Dr. Sunita R Melwani

Designation       : Sr. Lecturer  

Date of Birth     : 27/10/1980

Date of Joining  : 01/09/2018


BDS-2002-Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences, Bangalore, Karnataka

MDS-2018-Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla

  • Google Places Social Icon
  • facebook
  • Youtube
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus
  • Instagram

© 2018 by Himachal Institute of Dental Sciences